The “No make-up” Make-up Look

Like all teenage girls/ladies, I have also been fascinated with make-up. I find it truly creative and artsy.

This year’s trend is probably the “no make-up” make-up look. This look focuses on just enhancing your facial features subtly rather than transforming your face entirely (like Western Make-up promotes). Most Korean lead actresses (eastern make-up) favor this kind of look because it is lightweight and natural which is perfect for the hot and humid weather in our country.

The essence of this make-up look is rather simple: no heavy eyeliner, perfect base, and no bold lip color. The skin should look naturally flawless, healthy, and radiant. There shouldn’t be visible boundaries among the different layers of products. Everything should be seamless to give the idea of  a refreshed and healthy looking face. What’s even more exciting is that minimal products are needed to achieve this look.

As a make-up junkie, I find it necessary to master this make-up look. So here it goes.

1. Use a moisturizer preferably with SPF. I use the Celeteque DERMOSCIENCE Sunscreen plus moisturizer (the yellow one). It helps moisturize my skin while providing protection for the sun’s harmful UV rays. It also gives the skin a dewy finish.

2. Conceal only where it’s needed. Use a lightweight concealer like the L’oreal true match concealer (mine is in the shade W4 medium beige). However, I don’t normally use concealers since my skin is looking good and I don’t have any dark under-eyes to hide.

3. Highlight the highest points of the face with a cream or stick highlighter. This is entirely optional but I like to do it to make specific areas stand out. I highlight my cheekbones,  bridge of the nose, and cupid’s bow. I use the Maybelline master strobing stick in nude. Afterwards, I blend it with my fingers, a damp sponge, or a kabuki brush.

4. Set the oily parts (usually the T-zone) of your face with a pressed powder. It can be translucent or not. It depends when you would like to have extra coverage or you’d just like to avoid being oily. I prefer to use a foundation powder to give extra coverage such as the Maybelline Clear Smooth All-in-one two-way cake in the shade Honey. This step is vital since we have a humid and hot weather. It helps the make-up last longer.

5. Don’t forget to define your eyebrows. Even if we are aiming for a natural look, some definition for our eyebrows is needed to give balance to the whole look. Use a pencil or powder/eyeshadow which is one shade lighter than your hair color. The goal is to get soft-loooking, feathery, unmade brows that are shaped neatly which means no gaps and no obvious lines. I use the Pinkies eyebrow pencil in dark brown because it has a spoolie on the other end. I also set my brows with the Nichido clear brow gel so that my brows are tamed.

6. Apply a cheek tint or a peach powder blush. I alternately use the KJM lip and cheek tint in summer kiss or Maybelline’s V-face blush contour palette in peach for my cheeks. It gives me that warmth and glow needed to brighten up the face.

7. This step is optional, mostly depending on my mood. Use neutral colors for the eyes to add definition. Mostly, I just use the blush and contour palette from Maybelline for my eyes to compliment the cheeks and to tie it up with the look. Monochromatic natural make-up also looks good on Filipinas. I lightly dust the brown shade in my crease and I liberally apply the peachy shade on my lids.

8. Curl up your lashes and apply your favorite mascara. Mine is Maybelline’s hypercurl mascara. I love it since it’s not only waterproof but it also lengthens and volumizes my lashes without looking too dramatic.

9. Lastly, choose a nude or neutral lipstick which ties up with your eyes and cheeks. For the KJM cheek tint in summer kiss, I use the

Maybelline creamy matte in Clay crush or the lip tint itself since these are towards the orange undertone. When I have the pinky peach shade from my Maybelline blush palette, I use Nichido’s velvet matte lip pencil in Cashmere or Maybelline Creamy matte in touch of spice. It is important to pick a lipstick which looks like your natural lip color but better.

There you go! That’s my take on the no make-up make-up look. I love wearing this everyday (or when I feel like wearing make-up at all). It’s quick, easy, and versatile. This look is perfect for school or work.

Hope this helps! Let me know if you have questions.

Leave a Reply

